Well, the one thing I was hoping would not happen, happened

Luckily, I have dual AC units, so I am not without AC, just without the unit that cools the lower level of my home. The fix is going to cost me about $2,000. My guy said $1800-$2000, and I trust him. We are able to do without the unit for now, even the rest of the summer if necessary. It gets up to around 83 degrees in the house in areas, while other areas are comfortable. I’m experimenting with trying to redistribute the cool air, but not having a lot of luck. The fans definitely help. But I went back to midnight’s, and have to sleep during the day. My bedroom is the worst room in the house! So I may need to buy a cheap window system for my bedroom.
So now my finances are stressed. I need some advice. Income wise, not a lot of options there. I can’t take a second job due to hours of service issues. But the best solution would be to increase my income with some type of work from home business. I don’t need a lot, maybe an extra $1,000 per month. I’m not looking for multi-level marketing or some get rich scheme, just something that is steady.
On the expense side, I’m all about cutting expenses, but I’m too the point where I’m am going to start to cut into the bone. In terms of luxuries, we have Dish, which I am about to “cut the cord” on that, but that will not solve my problems. I have looked at all my utilities, and they are about as cheap as I can get them. My budget items like Gas, Groceries, Personal, and home needs, clothing, and misc, well I have cut those to. We budget shop, look for sales, coupon, ect, and we are able to make things work.
My debt is killing me though in terms of paying it off. I’m able to service it on time, in fact I pay all of my bills on time. I just can’t seem to get the overall balances lowered. My plan has not been working. My emergency fund gets used way more than it should, and I never get it built up and stabilized. There is always a repair that needs to be done on a car, or the house.
Now I have two kids in college, and they are working. Each is doing the pay as you go type thing for college. One may end up with a full ride next fall. With this, they are paying for their own transportation expenses, and many of their personal expenses. But they both are living at home to save on college costs, which I encouraged.
So what has hit me is this. I need to add another car to the family. We are looking at older models, and going to pay cash when we get to the right level. I also need to replace my oldest vehicle at some point. I have a 1997 Plymouth voyager with 228,000 miles, no ac, and is pretty close to being done. I might be able to get by another year or two with it, but….So I am in the market for two cars, and to fix my A/C, build up my emergency fund, and get my balanced paid down. What is holding me back is I am short on income. I have my budget, I have my plan, I have a great job with great income. But it is just not quite enough.
So, does anyone have any suggestions on how to build a secondary income? Keep in mind, I really can’t take a second job because of federal rest rules with my job. But something that is flexable, hopefully work from home. No multilevel marketing, or get rich quick schemes.